Triplets of Belleville
45%

Total votes: 11

Okri
Tenured

Re: Best Animated Film: 2003

Post by Okri »

Mister Tee wrote:
Okri wrote: I enjoyed the moose duo more than I expected,.
Forgive me if you already know this -- a problem with getting old is, you no longer know how many things are still common knowledge, and which have slipped into arcane territory. Were you aware the moose were Dave Thomas and Rick Moranis, reprising their McKenzie Brothers characters from SCTV? The two were a hugely popular part of the show back around 1980/81 (they even made a pretty bad feature, Strange Brew), two Canadian doofuses who sit around drinking beer and making stupid observations. As a Canadian resident, I figure you'd want to tuck this bit of information away. (The history of the skit, by the way, is interesting: as I understand it, Canadian law at the time required, in any show shot in the country, a certain percentage of purely Canadian content. This is what Thomas/Moranis came up with, which surely made the country regret the existence of the law.)
No, didn't know that. That law is still around in various guises, actually. It irritates people but I kinda like it.
Mister Tee
Tenured Laureate

Post by Mister Tee »

Lest you folks think I've been ignoring this thread: I'm another who never saw Brother Bear back in the day, thus couldn't comment. (Looking back, I see I was far less rigorous about completing the ballot when this category was new -- also still haven't seen Jimmy Neutron, Treasure Planet, Surf's Up! or even that Pirates! movie) A combination of baseball, election angst and, recently, mid-level health woes have kept me from seeing it, till last night.